Space Shuttle photograph of the central islands of the Hawaiian chain. From left to right they are Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Maui and (bottom right) Kahoolawe. The bright streaks to the lower left of each island is caused by sun glint off of the calm water on the leeward (downwind) side of the island.

Copyright by P. Mouginis-Mark